The Journey of the Year or the Year of the Journey?

Many of us make resolutions at the start of each year, full of ambition to better ourselves in this sparkling, fresh, new year. I usually do it myself. With mixed results, I might add. Exercise more? Hah.

But this year I’m thinking in terms of “journey.” Rather than just list things I’m going to do or not do, or trying to change a bunch of stuff about myself, I’m taking a long-term look.

Where do I want to be at the end of this year?
What do I want to have accomplished?
What will my journey have to look like in order to arrive at the desired destination?

There are a lot of possible journeys I could take.
Self-improvement is always a popular one. Learning a new skill. A new language. Getting organized and out from under the threat of finding myself in Hoarders Anonymous.

Write a book. Or finish one.

Yep. Finish one.

For me, 2015 is going to be the year I finish revising a middle-grade novel I wrote several years ago. Whether it ends up being a journey to publication, or a journey of self-satisfaction in getting it done remains to be seen.

But I will do it.

I am putting this out here online to try and keep myself accountable.

In order to reach the end of my proposed trip, I’ve set some goals.
1. I will work on this revision for a minimum of 4 hours a week (not the 2 hours every day I’ve resolved to do in the past). I mean to finish by June.
2. I will identify a writer friend who has not read any of the previous versions of the book–fresh eyes–who is willing to read the whole thing through. I hope to get it back by the end of summer, and tweak a little more based on this persons suggestions.
3. I will find out if the agent who suggested some revisions three years ago is still at that agency. If not, I will find out where she is. I will submit the finished revision to her or another agent by the end of the summer.

And that will be the end of my journey. Of course, I hope it will be the continuation of a longer journey to publication, one that started when I wrote the first words of the first chapter.

Well, that’s it for me. What kind of journey do you plan on taking this year?

About Christine

I am a mom, grandmom, wife, sister, daughter, Christian, and writer. I love my family, Jesus, traveling, reading, sewing, gardening, adventure, and photography. My life is a journey, as is yours. Travel with me through my journeys as a writer, a Christ-follower, a wanderer across the land. Let's explore together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

