A New Journey Begins

Yesterday started out like any other Tuesday. I got up, packed lunches, dropped hubby off at work and went on to my job.

Half an hour later, everything changed.

My boss (the pastor, since I worked at a church) sat down in my office and told me my position was being eliminated.

Talk about a shock–a bolt out of the blue.

It started as a volunteer position five years ago. Health issues prevented me from working with the Children’s Ministry anymore, which was one of my passions. The then-current pastor asked if I could help by sending out welcome letters to visitors, then he asked me to take on a few other small jobs, then I took over the bulletin, then the newsletter and oversight over the website. At that point, the church began paying me and gave me the title of Administrative Assistant.

I loved my job, and I believe I did it well. But things change, and the elders have decided to do things differently. This is not the place to discuss any of that, so let me just say that yesterday I was devastated. In that one sentence, “We’re eliminating your position,” I lost my income, my church, and my church family.

However, I do trust that God knows what He is doing, and that often what He has in mind is indeed more than we can imagine.

So. Looking for a new job, because we have bills to pay. Looking for a new church, because I can’t feel comfortable sitting there after having been dismissed.

A new journey begins

price park path

 

About Christine

I am a mom, grandmom, wife, sister, daughter, Christian, and writer. I love my family, Jesus, traveling, reading, sewing, gardening, adventure, and photography. My life is a journey, as is yours. Travel with me through my journeys as a writer, a Christ-follower, a wanderer across the land. Let's explore together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

